Home / City of Kingsburg

CITY OF KINGSBURG

Incorporated in 1908

Fast Facts for the City of Kingsburg

CITY COUNCIL

The Kingsburg City Council meets on the first and third Wednesdays of each month at 6:00 p.m.

*COG Policy Board Representative

Title Name Email
Mayor Michelle Roman mr4kingsburg@gmail.com
Mayor Pro Tem Bruce Blayney bblayney@kingsburgins.com
Councilmember Staci Smith staci_smith@sbcglobal.net
Councilmember Sherman Dix slcd2008@gmail.com
Councilmember Laura North lnorthktown@gmail.com
Planning Commission Chair Paul Kruper
City Manager Alexander J. Henderson ahenderson@cityofkingsburg-ca.gov
City Clerk Abigail Palsgaard apalsgaard@cityofkingsburg-ca.gov
City Attorney Michael Noland
Finance Director OPEN mmoreno@cityofkingsburg-ca.gov
Police Chief Neil Dadian neil.dadian@fcle.org
Fire Chief Tim Ray firechief@cityofkingsburg-ca.gov
Planning Consultant Greg Collins greg@weplancities.com
City Engineer Dave Peters dpeters@petersengineering.com
Building Offical Mike Koch mkoch@cityofkingsburg-ca.gov
Director of Administrative Services Christina Windover cwindover@cityofkingsburg-ca.gov
Public Works Director Darren Hays dnhays@cityofkingsburg-ca.gov
Director of Community Services Adam Castaneda acastaneda@cityofkingsburg-ca.gov

FAST FACTS

The history of Kingsburg is unique with its single ethnic origin. In the early 1870’s news of good farming, warm climate and free government land prompted two Swedish natives to settle in a Central Pacific Railroad (now Union Pacific) town called Kings River Switch”. In 1874 the present townsite was drawn up and the name was changed to “Kingsbury”. Two years later it became “Kingsburgh” and in 1894 took on its present spelling, “Kingsburg”.

Before widespread irrigation, huge wheat farms were the source of Valley wealth and problems. Transient workers with no ties to any community spent their wages in the saloons of whatever town they found themselves. Overindulgence often resulted in gunshot-punctuated exuberance that often spilled into the streets. Kingsburg was no different. By 1886 there were four hotels and several saloons causing consternation to a growing town population. Alarmed community leaders, hoping to incorporate their city, led the fight to clean up the town. The fight was between “drys” who wanted all saloons within the city limits closed, and “wets” who wanted to maintain status quo. On May 11, 1908, “drys” won the day. Kingsburg was incorporated and all but two saloons were closed.

In 1921 ninety four percent of the population within a three-mile radius of Kingsburg was Swedish-American, giving the community the nickname of “Little Sweden.” Today Kingsburg is known as the “Swedish Village”. With its Swedish architecture and village atmosphere, Swedish banners fluttering from lampposts and brightly painted Dala Horses, the Swedish heritage of the community is preserved.

January 1, 2015 State of California Department of Finance Information
Population 11,711
Number of Housing Units 4,138
Vacancy Rate 5.2%
April 1, 2010 U.S. Census Information
Population 11,382 Age Distribution
Number of Housing Units 4,069 % under 5 years 8.0%
Vacancy Rate 6.07% % under 18 years 29.6%
Average Household Size 2.96 % 21 years and over 66.1%
% 55 years and over 22.3%
Race/Ethnic Distribution % 60 years and over 17.1%
White 50.7% % 65 years and over 12.8%
Hispanic 42.9% Median Age 33.7
Black 0.3%
American Indian & Alaskan Native 0.5% Occupied Housing Unit Tenure
Asian & Pacific Islander 3.3% Percent Owner-Occupied 66.4%
Other 2.2% Percent Renter-Occupied 33.6%
2008-2012 U.S. Census American Community Survey
Median Family Income $66,662 Percent of Persons 25 Years of Age and Older Who Have Completed High School or Equivalent 81.0%
Median Household Income $58,324 Percent of Persons 25 Years of Age and Older Who Have Completed a Bachelor’s Degree 22.9%
Percent of Persons Below Poverty Level 16.8%
Percent of Children Under 18 Years of Age Below Poverty Level 22.6% Percent of Persons 5 Years of Age and Older Who Speak a Language Other Than English at Home 34.9%


Form of Government:Elected MayorCity Manager

Local Newspaper:

Kingsburg Recorder,
P.O. Box 9,
Hanford, CA 93232
Phone: 559-582-0471
FAX: 559-582-2341

Leave a Reply