Home / City of Parlier

CITY OF PARLIER

Incorporated 1921

Fast Facts for the City of Parlier

CITY COUNCIL

The Parlier City Council meets the first and third Wednesday of each month at 6:30 p.m.

COG Policy Board Representative

Title Name Email
Mayor Alma Beltran abeltran@parlier.ca.us
Mayor Pro Tem Jose Escoto jescoto@parlier.ca.us
Councilmember Noe Rodriguez nrodriguez@parlier.ca.us
Councilmember Diane Maldonado dmaldonado@parlier.ca.us
Councilmember Trinidad Pimentel tpimentel@parlier.ca.us
City Manager Samuel A. Escobar sescobar@parlier.ca.us
Superintendent of Public Works Domingo Morales scisneros@parlier.ca.us
Interim Chief of Police Rick Ehle rick.ehle@fcle.org
Deputy City Clerk/Executive Assistant Bertha Augustine bertha@parlier.ca.us
City Clerk Dorothy Garza

FAST FACTS

Parlier was incorporated in 1921 and it is the center of the beautiful San Joaquin Valley in Fresno County. It is ideally situated about 200 miles north of Los Angeles and about the same distance south of San Francisco and Sacramento. Parlier is the center and 12 mile radial point for a service community area of over 100,000 people. Parlier is centrally located to serve the vast California market of over 30 million people. Its proximity to major highway networks and rail service makes Parlier an attractive business location. Recreational opportunities in the Sierra Nevada are within a couple of hours time from Parlier. Parlier has a strong labor force, good infrastructure and a city government committed to making it a city that is supportive of business.

January 1, 2015 State of California Department of Finance Information
Population 15,095
Number of Housing Units 3,596
Vacancy Rate 4.3%
April 1, 2010 U.S. Census Information
Population 14,494 Age Distribution
Number of Housing Units 3494 % under 5 years 11.7%
Vacancy Rate 5.64% % under 18 years 37.1%
Average Household Size 4.40 % 21 years and over 57.2%
% 55 years and over 11.6%
Race/Ethnic Distribution % 60 years and over 8.2%
White 1.7% % 65 years and over 5.5%
Hispanic 97.5% Median Age 25.1
Black 0.1%
American Indian & Alaskan Native 0.1% Occupied Housing Unit Tenure
Asian & Pacific Islander 0.3% Percent Owner-Occupied 46.2%
Other 0.3% Percent Renter-Occupied 53.8%
2008-2012 U.S. Census American Community Survey
Median Family Income $35,100 Percent of Persons 25 Years of Age and Older Who Have Completed High School or Equivalent 41.2%
Median Household Income 36,161 Percent of Persons 25 Years of Age and Older Who Have Completed a Bachelor’s Degree 5.3%
Percent of Persons Below Poverty Level 31.1%
Percent of Children Under 18 Years of Age Below Poverty Level 41.1% Percent of Persons 5 Years of Age and Older Who Speak a Language Other Than English at Home 83.0%

 

Form of Government:Council Manager

Local Newspaper:
Parlier Post
1130 G. Street
Reedley, California 93654
Phone:638-2244
FAX:638-5021

Leave a Reply