Home / City of Sanger

CITY OF SANGER

Incorporated 1911

Fast Facts for the City of Sanger

CITY COUNCIL

The Sanger City Council meets the first and third Thursday of each month at 6:00 p.m.

COG Policy Board Representative

Title Name Email
Mayor Frank Gonzalez fgonzalez@ci.sanger.ca.us
Mayor Pro Tem Eli Ontiveros eontiveros@ci.sanger.ca.us
Council Member Humberto Garza hgarza@ci.sanger.ca.us
Council Member Melissa Hurtado mhurtado@ci.sanger.ca.us
Council Member Daniel Martinez dmartinez@ci.sanger.ca.us
City Clerk Becky Hernandez bhernandez@ci.sanger.ca.us
City Attorney Hilda Cantu Montoy hildac@montoylaw.com
City Manager Tim Chapa tchapa@ci.sanger.ca.us
Interim Administrative Services Director Gary Watahira gwatahira@ci.sanger.ca.us
Public Works Director John Mulligan jmulligan@ci.sanger.ca.us
Community Development Director Tom Navarro tnavarro@ci.sanger.ca.us
Police Chief Silver Rodriguez silver.rodriguez@fcle.org
Fire Chief Greg Tarascou gregt@ci.sanger.ca.us
City Clerk/Deputy Personnel Officer Becky Hernandez bhernandez@ci.sanger.ca.us
City Engineer Josh Rogers jrogers@ci.sanger.ca.us
City Planner David Brletic
Building Inspector Tim Linton tlinton@ci.sanger.ca.us

FAST FACTS

Founded over a hundred years ago as a saw mill and shipping point, Sanger was incorporated on May 9, 1911.

With a five member council at large, the city functions as a Council-Manager, General Law form of government. Federal designation as the Nations Christmas Tree City gives Sanger a sense of pride truly second to none. A nationally recognized award-winning school district is a source of pride to the whole community. Affordable housing in comfortable neighborhoods provides a safe, small town atmosphere in which to raise children.

January 1, 2015 State of California Department of Finance Information
Population 25,128
Number of Housing Units 7,269
Vacancy Rate 5.6%
April 1, 2010 U.S. Census Information
Population 24,270 Age Distribution
Number of Housing Units 7,104 % under 5 years 9.5%
Vacancy Rate 6.26% % under 18 years 33.6%
Average Household Size 3.62 % 21 years and over 61.3%
% 55 years and over 17.1%
Race/Ethnic Distribution % 60 years and over 12.8%
White 14.6% % 65 years and over 9.4%
Hispanic 80.5% Median Age 29.2
Black 0.5%
American Indian & Alaskan Native 0.4% Occupied Housing Unit Tenure
Asian & Pacific Islander 2.9% Percent Owner-Occupied 58.2%
Other 1.1% Percent Renter-Occupied 41.8%
2008-2012 U.S. Census American Community Survey
Median Family Income $46,230 Percent of Persons 25 Years of Age and Older Who Have Completed High School or Equivalent 58.7%
Median Household Income $40,761 Percent of Persons 25 Years of Age and Older Who Have Completed a Bachelor’s Degree 10.5%
Percent of Persons Below Poverty Level 23.7%
Percent of Children Under 18 Years of Age Below Poverty Level 30.8% Percent of Persons 5 Years of Age and Older Who Speak a Language Other Than English at Home 56.5%

Form of Government:City Council City Manager

Local Newspaper:
Sanger Herald
1130 G Street
Reedley, CA 93654
Phone: 559-638-2244
Fax: 559-638-5021

Leave a Reply