2010 San Joaquin Valley Blueprint Awards

2010 San Joaquin Valley Blueprint Awards

Recipient Announcement


Four years ago, the eight regional planning agencies in the San Joaquin Valley came together in an unprecedented effort to develop a coordinated valley vision the San Joaquin Valley Regional Blueprint. This eight county venture was conducted within each county, and in 2009 was integrated to form a preferred vision for future development throughout the Valley to the year 2050.


In an effort to recognize projects that are Blueprint friendly, the Valleys regional planning agencies created an awards program specifically designed for this purpose. Nominations were solicited from throughout the San Joaquin Valley for smart growth projects. The judges reviewed the nominations and selected several for their efforts to reflect the Blueprint Principles. We are pleased to announce this years Blueprint Awards recipients.


The following awards will be presented by the Regional Policy Council at the Fall Policy Conference luncheon on October 7, 2010 in Modesto, CA (www.stancog.org )



Award of Achievement | Residential Development Project
Villa Monterey Apartments, Stockton CA


Award of Achievement | Mixed Use Project
Wagner Woods, Ripon, CA


Award of Achievement | Downtown Revitalization Project
City of Riverbank – Downtown Revitalization


Award of Achievement | Historic Preservation
Avenal Theater Restoration Project


Award of Achievement | Revitalization Unincorporated Area
Woodbridge Revitalization Project


Award of Achievement | Darrel Hildebrand Blueprint Leadership Award
Lew Nelson, City of Tulare Public Works Director



The Blueprint Principles were used as the criteria to judge the project submittals.


  • Create a range of housing opportunities and choices
  • Create walkable neighborhoods
  • Encourage community and stakeholder collaboration
  • Foster distinctive, attractive communities with a strong sense of place
  • Make development decisions predictable, fair and cost effective
  • Mix land uses
  • Preserve open space, farmland, natural beauty and critical environmental areas
  • Provide a variety of transportation choices
  • Strengthen and direct development towards existing communities
  • Take advantage of compact building design
  • Enhance the economic vitality of the region
  • Support actions that encourage environmental resource management


Criteria for Darrel Hildebrand Blueprint Leadership Award


Support of Blueprint planning. Has the nominee’s work increased the understanding of the Blueprnt planning process? Has the nominee shown a clear understanding of, and support for, the importance of the Blueprint to the Valley’s quality of life?


Effectiveness and results. Has the nominee been effective in formulating Blueprint planning concepts and ideas in support of good planning? What level of influence and effectiveness has the nominee achieved within different segments of the community?


The Blueprint Awards program is sponsored by the San Joaquin Valley Regional Policy Council (representing the eight SJV COGs), the Central Section of Cal Chapter APA (American Planning Association), AIA (American Institute of Architects) San Joaquin Chapter and the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco.


The Award Judges represent several sectors:


City of Merced Mayor Bill Spriggs
Fresno Council of Governments Tony Boren, Executive Director
American Planning Association Ralph Kachadourian, City Planner, Sanger
American Institute of Architects Dave Phillips, AIA
Federal Reserve Bank, San Francisco Darryl Rutherford
Building Industry Association Mike Prandini
At Large Bruce ONeal