Home / City of Coalinga

CITY OF COALINGA

Incorporated 1906

Fast Facts for the City of Coalinga

CITY COUNCIL

The Coalinga City Council meets on the first and third Thursday of the month at 6:00 p.m.

*COG Policy Board Representative

Office Title Name Email
City Council Mayor *Nathan Vosburg nvosburg@coalinga.com
City Council Mayor Pro Tem Steve Raine sraine@coalinga.com
City Council Councilmember Ron Ramsey coalingarramsey@sbcglobal.net
City Council Councilmember Ron Lander rlander@coalinga.com
City Council Councilmember Tanya Stolz tstolz@coalinga.com
Treasurer James C. Vosburg jvosburg@coalinga.com
City Clerk Wanda Earls wearls@coalinga.com
Planning Commission Chairman Ken Stoppenbrink kenstoppenbrink@WHCCD.edu
Planning Commission Vice Chair Joshua Sailer
Planning Commission Commissioner Michele Helmar feb2@att.net
Planning Commission Commissioner James Jacobs jim@macielmortgage.com
Planning Commission Commissioner Luis Gonzales henryluis92@icloud.com

FAST FACTS

In the late 1800s early settlements occurred in the Pleasant Valley upon the discovery of coal in Western Fresno County. Mule trains transported the coal to the transfer station to serve the Southern Pacific Railroad. Coaling Station A & B became the loading points for the railroad. Coalinga was derived from dropping station (Coaling Station A) from the name of this loading point. The later discovery of oil and gas adjacent to Coalinga soon prompted another wave of development. Oil boomers arrived, and the town grew and prospered.

Coalinga incorporated as a city in 1906. The city is a full service community with a community college (West Hills Community College), a community hospital and library, a municipal airport (5,000 foot primary runway), and two major state facilities (Pleasant Valley State Prison and Coalinga State Hospital). Coalinga is located along Interstate 5 in the Central Valley as a central point accessible to the major cities within the Golden State. Commercial and industrial opportunities abound.

 

January 1, 2015 State of California Department of Finance Information
Population 16,529
Number of Housing Units 4,353
Vacancy Rate 8.4%
April 1, 2010 U.S. Census Information
Population 13,380 Age Distribution
Number of Housing Units 4,344 % under 5 years 8.0%
Vacancy Rate 10.31% % under 18 years 28.1%
Average Household Size 3.02 % 21 years and over 66.4%
% 55 years and over 17.6%
Race/Ethnic Distribution % 60 years and over 12.0%
White 37.7% % 65 years and over 7.9%
Hispanic 53.5% Median Age 31.9
Black 3.8%
American Indian & Alaskan Native 0.6% Occupied Housing Unit Tenure
Asian & Pacific Islander 2.9% Percent Owner-Occupied 51.2%
Other 1.4% Percent Renter-Occupied 48.8%
2008-2012 U.S. Census American Community Survey
Median Family Income $41,008 Percent of Persons 25 Years of Age and Older Who Have Completed High School or Equivalent 63.0%
Median Household Income $43,114 Percent of Persons 25 Years of Age and Older Who Have Completed a Bachelor’s Degree 8.8%
Percent of Persons Below Poverty Level 19.2%
Percent of Children Under 18 Years of Age Below Poverty Level 25.8% Percent of Persons 5 Years of Age and Older Who Speak a Language Other Than English at Home 43.9%

Leave a Reply