Home / City of Firebaugh

 

CITY OF FIREBAUGH

Incorporated in 1914

Fast Facts for the City of Firebaugh

CITY COUNCIL

The Firebaugh City Council meets on the first and third Monday of the month at 6:00 p.m.

*COG Policy Board Representative

Title Name Email
Mayor Marcia Sablan msablan@firebaugh.org
Mayor Pro Tem Elsa Lopez elopez@firebaugh.org
Council Member Brady Jenkins bjenkins@firebaugh.org
Council Member Felipe Perez fperez@firebaugh.org
Council Member Freddy Valdez fvaldez@firebaugh.org
City Manager Ben Gallegos publicworks@ci.firebaugh.ca.us
Public Works Director Ben Gallegos publicworks@ci.firebaugh.ca.us
Police Chief Sal Raygoza Salvador.Raygoza@fcle.org
Finance Director Pio Martin financedirector@firebaugh.org
Senior Center/Community

Event/Building

Isabel Saldivar isaldivar@ci.firebaugh.ca.us
Deputy City Clerk Rita Lozano deputyclerk@ci.firebaugh.ca.us
Fire Chief John Borboa Jborboa@ci.firebaugh.cu.us
City Attorney Megin Boranian mboranian@fikeboranianlaw.com
City Engineer Mario Gouveia mgouveia@gouveiaengineering.com
City Planner Karl Schoettler Karl@weplancities.com

FAST FACTS

Incorporated in 1914, Firebaugh has grown from a “sheep shearing station and ferry crossing,” to a small agriculture based city. Before the railroad, the San Joaquin River was the major thoroughfare to upstream communities. The ferry was the major crossing for prospectors heading for gold country.
Ferries were the only way to cross the river until the late 1800’s when the first bridges were built. The San Joaquin River played a major role in settling of the valley and Firebaugh is one of the oldest historical towns on the Westside.

January 1, 2015 State of California Department of Finance Information
Population 7,779
Number of Housing Units 2,135
Vacancy Rate 6.5%
April 1, 2010 U.S. Census Information
Population 7,549 Age Distribution
Number of Housing Units 2,096 % under 5 years 9.7%
Vacancy Rate 8.40% % under 18 years 36.0%
Average Household Size 3.93 % 21 years and over 58.4%
% 55 years and over 14.0%
Race/Ethnic Distribution % 60 years and over 9.7%
White 7.5% % 65 years and over 6.5%
Hispanic 91.2% Median Age 26.4
Black 0.3%
American Indian & Alaskan Native 0.2% Occupied Housing Unit Tenure
Asian & Pacific Islander 0.5% Percent Owner-Occupied 52.5%
Other 0.3% Percent Renter-Occupied 47.5%
2008-2012 U.S. Census American Community Survey
Median Family Income $30,218 Percent of Persons 25 Years of Age and Older Who Have Completed High School or Equivalent 38.7%
Median Household Income $28,555 Percent of Persons 25 Years of Age and Older Who Have Completed a Bachelor’s Degree 4.0%
Percent of Persons Below Poverty Level 34.8%
Percent of Children Under 18 Years of Age Below Poverty Level 44.4% Percent of Persons 5 Years of Age and Older Who Speak a Language Other Than English at Home 83.7%

Form of Government:City Council Manager

Local Newspaper:
FirebaughMendota Journal
P.O. Box 336
681 S. Madera Avenue, Suite 109
Kerman, CA 93630
Phone: 559-846-6689
FAX: 559-846-8045

Leave a Reply

Fresno COG offices will be closed on Tuesday, March 31, 2020 in observance of Caesar Chavez Day.

Fresno COG Office Operations: Consistent with protocols being followed by state and local public agencies, in light of the COVID -19 crisis, beginning today March 19, 2020, the majority of Fresno COG staff will be telecommuting from home.

Regional Transportation Mitigation Fee (RTMF) Collection: Fresno COG will continue to collect RTMF mitigation fees, however RTMF payments will only be collected on Monday and Tuesday until March 31st or until the COVID-19 situation is mitigated to a level deemed safe by public health officials.

Senior Taxi Scrip Program: Seniors who live in Fresno County will still be able to purchase senior taxi scrip via mail.