Home / City of Fowler

CITY OF FOWLER

“The Blossom Trail City”
Incorporated in 1908

Fast Facts for the City of Fowler

CITY COUNCIL

The Fowler City Council meets on the first and third Tuesday of the month at 7:00 p.m.

*COG Policy Board Representative

Title Name Email
Mayor *David Cardenas davidtcardenas@yahoo.com
Mayor Pro Tem Leonard Hammer lhammer@ci.fowler.ca.us
Councilmember Daniel Parra dparra@ci.fowler.ca.us
Councilmember Karnig Kazarian kkazarian @ci.fowler.ca.us
Councilmember Mark Rodriquez mark@kingfresh.com
City Manager/City Clerk Jeannie Davis jdavis@ci.fowler.ca.us
Deputy City Clerk Corina Burrola cburrola@ci.fowler.ca.us
PD Secretary/Planning Sennaida Zavala szavala@ci.fowler.ca.us
City Treasurer/Finance Director Ken McDonald kmcdonald@ci.fowler.ca.us
Police Chief Rudy Alcaraz fowlerpd@ci.fowler.ca.us
Fire Chief Manuel Lopez mlopez@ci.fowler.ca.us
City Attorney Scott Cross scross@lozanosmith.com
Public Works Director Dario Dominguez ddominguez@ci.fowler.ca.us
Planning Consultant Dawn Marple dmarple@ppeng.com
City Engineer David Peters dpeters@peters-engineering.com

FAST FACTS

In the early 1870’s, State Senator Thomas Fowler established a rail spur ten miles south of Fresno for shipping his cattle. In 1878 the first permanent structure was built by John S. Gentry. The City of Fowler was incorporated in 1908.
The City of Fowler is located in the San Joaquin Valley with access to big city living minutes away in the FresnoClovis Metropolitan Area. Agriculture is the major industry. The City is also intent on developing a strong light industrial base in Fowler’s Industrial Corridor. U.S. Highway 99 is easily accessible.

January 1, 2015 State of California Department of Finance Information
Population 5,957
Number of Housing Units 1,948
Vacancy Rate 7.0%
April 1, 2010 U.S. Census Information
Population 5,570 Age Distribution
Number of Housing Units 1,842 % under 5 years 8.0%
Vacancy Rate 6.46% % under 18 years 29.8%
Average Household Size 3.21 % 21 years and over 65.0%
% 55 years and over 18.6%
Race/Ethnic Distribution % 60 years and over 13.8%
White 20.0% % 65 years and over 10.0%
Hispanic 66.2% Median Age 31.6
Black 1.6%
American Indian & Alaskan Native 0.4% Occupied Housing Unit Tenure
Asian & Pacific Islander 10.4% Percent Owner-Occupied 64.0%
Other 1.4% Percent Renter-Occupied 36.0%
2008-2012 U.S. Census American Community Survey
Median Family Income $50,938 Percent of Persons 25 Years of Age and Older Who Have Completed High School or Equivalent 67.6%
Median Household Income $49,805 Percent of Persons 25 Years of Age and Older Who Have Completed a Bachelor’s Degree 16.7%
Percent of Persons Below Poverty Level 18.8%
Percent of Children Under 18 Years of Age Below Poverty Level 27.5% Percent of Persons 5 Years of Age and Older Who Speak a Language Other Than English at Home 46.8%

Form of Government:City Council Manager

Local Newspaper:
The Fowler Ensign
1130 G Street
Reedley, CA 93654
Phone: 559-638-2244
Fax: 559-638-5021

Leave a Reply

Under the governor’s July 13 public health order, Fresno COG’s office is closed to the general public until further notice.

ONLY payments for Regional Transportation Mitigation Fees will be accepted and processed in person at the front counter from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.
Masks are required.

All Senior Scrip orders may be placed online at www.seniorscrip.org or by mail. For Senior Scrip questions, call 559-233-4148, Ext. 216.