Home / City of Kerman

CITY OF KERMAN

Incorporated in 1946

Fast Facts for the City of Kerman

CITY COUNCIL

The Kerman City Council meets on the first and third Wednesday of the month at 6:30 p.m.

*COG Policy Board Representative

Title Name Email
Mayor *Rhonda Armstrong mreyes@cityofkerman.org
Mayor Pro Tem Gary Yep gyep93630@gmail.com
Councilmember Ismael Herrera herrera.district3@gmail.com
Councilmember Raj Dhaliwal rdhaliwal123@yahoo.com
Councilmember Espi Sandoval esandovalkermancc@gmail.com
City Manager John Kunkel jkunkel@cityofkerman.org
Executive Secretary Josie Camacho jcamacho@cityofkerman.org
City Clerk Marci Reyes mreyes@cityofkerman.org
Finance Director/City Treasurer Carolina Camacho ccamacho@cityofkerman.org
Chief of Police John Golden john.golden@fcle.org
City Attorney Hilda Cantu Montoy hildac@montoylaw.com
Contract Engineer Wildan Engineering
(559) 846-6121
Community Services Director Phillip Gallegos pgallegos@cityofkerman.org
Planning Consultants Collins & Schoettler (559) 734-8737
Assistant Planner Olivia Pimentel opimentel@cityofkermanorg
Public Work Director Ken Moore kmoore@cityofkerman.org

FAST FACTS

Kerman is located just east of Fresno in the heart of Californias San Joaquin Valley.It is predominantly an agriculturally based economy, but is promoting business growth through the expansion of industrial development and through partnerships with Fresno County, the I-5 Business Development Corridor, the Economic Development Corporation serving Fresno County and the Regional Jobs Initiative (RJI).

January 1, 2015 State of California Department of Finance Information
Population 14,314
Number of Housing Units 4,081
Vacancy Rate 6.0%
April 1, 2010 U.S. Census Information
Population 13,544 Age Distribution
Number of Housing Units 3,908 % under 5 years 10.3%
Vacancy Rate 5.53% % under 18 years 34.3%
Average Household Size 3.67 % 21 years and over 60.7%
% 55 years and over 15.4%
Race/Ethnic Distribution % 60 years and over 10.8%
White 18.2% % 65 years and over 7.2%
Hispanic 71.7% Median Age 28.2
Black 0.3%
American Indian & Alaskan Native 0.4% Occupied Housing Unit Tenure
Asian & Pacific Islander 7.9% Percent Owner-Occupied 58.6%
Other 1.4% Percent Renter-Occupied 41.4%
2008-2012 U.S. Census American Community Survey
Median Family Income $48,770 Percent of Persons 25 Years of Age and Older Who Have Completed High School or Equivalent 61.7%
Median Household Income $46,834 Percent of Persons 25 Years of Age and Older Who Have Completed a Bachelor’s Degree 11.6%
Percent of Persons Below Poverty Level 24.5%
Percent of Children Under 18 Years of Age Below Poverty Level 33.8% Percent of Persons 5 Years of Age and Older Who Speak a Language Other Than English at Home 64.5%

 

 

Form of Government:Elected MayorCity Manager

Local Newspaper:
Kerman News
P.O. Box 336
Kerman, California 93630
Phone:559-846-6689
FAX:559-846-8045

Leave a Reply

2019 Fresno Regional Transportation Innovations Summit & Awards

October 23, 2019
– Save the Date!

The Summit is a joint production of Fresno State's Transportation Institute and Fresno Council of Governments, designed to provide an opportunity for hundreds of residents, professionals and stakeholders to become familiar with the latest in advanced, clean transportation technology through an up-close and personal experience. It also brings together businesses and individuals that have invested in cleaner transportation technology, to share their successes and challenges with the community.

Register for the Summit here!